StockFetcher Forums · Filter Exchange · CUP AND HANDLE FILTER SETTINGS IBD SETTINGS<< >>Post Follow-up
fieldbenjamin
7 posts
msg #82654
Ignore fieldbenjamin
modified
11/8/2009 9:18:28 PM

Hello all,
I am new to this service, but am an avid IBD user.

I am trying to set the cup and handle filter settings so that they are within the IBD cup and handle/cup with handle rules
Ex-
Cup pattern – duration from three to six months

Handle – downward price trend, decreasing volume, above 10 week moving average, duration 1-3 weeks

Has anyone successfully done this? I feel the cup and handle results given from the standard search are too liberal.
If so could you share?
Thanks,

here are my current cup and handle search parameters
/* Cup and Handle */
and Show stocks where pattern is cup and handle
and Average Volume(90) is above 500000
and close is between 5 and 250
and draw MACD(12,26,9)
and draw RSI(14)
CMF(14) crosses above zero
and Show stocks where Accumulation Distribution has been increasing for the last 1 week

chetron
2,817 posts
msg #82655
Ignore chetron
modified
11/8/2009 9:26:22 PM

clickable....
LIBERAL??????????
HOW ABOUT BROKEN............

Fetcher[
/* Cup and Handle */
Show stocks where pattern is cup and handle
Average Volume(90) is above 500000
close is between 5 and 250
draw MACD(12,26,9)
draw RSI(14)
CMF(14) crosses above 0
Show stocks where Accumulation Distribution has been increasing for the last 1 week
]

fieldbenjamin
7 posts
msg #82657
Ignore fieldbenjamin
11/8/2009 9:41:18 PM

agreed,
thanks for posting clickable,
Any suggestions for tightening cup and handle to a true pattern are appreciated

chetron
2,817 posts
msg #82660
Ignore chetron
11/8/2009 10:25:52 PM

WHY TIGHTEN A FILTER THAT IS ALREADY SO TIGHT THAT IT GIVES NO RESULTS?????????

SORRY FOR THE LOW BANDWIDTH RESPONSES..

fieldbenjamin
7 posts
msg #82661
Ignore fieldbenjamin
11/8/2009 10:39:17 PM

Ok, fine,