StockFetcher Forums · Filter Exchange · Interesting - VXX:SPY ratio accurately calls recent tops and bottoms<< 1 ... 8 9 10 11 12 >>Post Follow-up
dho99
4 posts
msg #105216
Ignore dho99
3/1/2012 8:59:32 PM

jsheetz I'm very interesting in your findings... I am going to look into it as well but I am no pro by any means. However, if this proves to be a consistent filter it can help portfolio wide instead of just a VXX vs SPY filter

BarTune1
441 posts
msg #105229
Ignore BarTune1
3/2/2012 9:48:02 PM

The VXX:SPY ratio has been examined and re-examined and was optimized by Kevin long ago. There were various threads on this topic and I watch the VIX ratio daily to time the market and my entries whether they be index ETFs or stocks. There are many ways it can be used.

As to the question specifically whether MA crossovers of the ratio can be used to time SPY buys and sells .... the following filter (written by Kevin) is one of the best. View this as a chart and you need only pay attention to the crossover of the RATIOMA13 which is the first oscillator at the bottom of the chart. Extend the chart to a year ... its easy to see ... buy the SPY on the crossover (watch the market jump) ... and sell the SPY when it crosses back.

/*THE FOUR HORSEMEN - OVERALL MARKET INDICATORS*/

/*SET ADVANCING - DECLINING STOCKS ON NYSE AS A VARIABLE AND CREATE A MOVING AVERAGE OSCILLATOR*/

set{var1, ind(^advn,close)}
set{var2, ind(^decn,close)}
set{var3a, var1 - var2}
set{AD_19, CEMA(var3a,19)}
set{AD_39, CEMA(var3a,39)}
set{AD_McClellan, AD_19 - AD_39}
set{summation1, sum( AD_McClellan,2)}
set{AD_summation, CEMA(summation1,20)}
set{as12, summation1 - AD_summation}

/*SET NYSE ADVANCING VOLUME / DECLINING VOLUME RATIO AS SECOND VARIABLE AND CREATE A SIMILAR OSCILLATOR*/

set{var3,ind(^nvlu,close)}
set{var4,ind(^nvld,close)}
set{advancing_volume, sum(var3,10)}
set{declining_volume, sum(var4,10)}
set{volume_oscillator, advancing_volume / declining_volume}

SET{SPY, IND(SPY,CLOSE)}