StockFetcher Forums · Filter Exchange · Please help me create this filter for a swing trade<< >>Post Follow-up
billcr
5 posts
msg #32057
Ignore billcr
5/13/2004 8:41:39 AM

I am a newbie and would like help in creating
this filter for a swing trade:

1) Up trend in price

2) With monthly new high,

3) Followed by 3 days (or more) of decreasing highs
(ideally open at high and close at low),

4) Followed by high higher than previous session high.

Any help appreciated!
Thanks

cegis
235 posts
msg #32058
Ignore cegis
5/13/2004 9:26:58 AM

Hi billcr,

Welcome! I am of the persuasion that the best way to learn something is to try to do it. So, instead of writing the filter for you, I'll supply some suggestions on where to look. That should get you going, and not waste too much time looking at unrelated "stuff".

1) There are several ways you can filter for this. Try looking at the "slope of" phrase (as in slope of close).

2) If I understand what you are looking for, look at "reached a new..." and "days ago" phrases, and perhaps the "days()" function.

3) Check out "has been decreasing for the past X days", and "days ago" phrases, for the basic test. For the "ideally" part, perhaps the "near" phrase would work for you.

4) Your phrase is almost syntactically correct: You'll want the "days ago" phrase here, too.

Some other pointers:

- Values that you can screen on are (almost?) always named what the "common" name is; i.e., Close, Open, High, Low, Volume, etc., etc...

- Personally, I find the Announcements forum a good place to find the documentation of SF features. However, reading throught the User's Guide is something that you'll wanna do in the not too distant future. It will give you a good "feel" for how filters are constructed. Also, some of the phrases I mentioned above probably won't be in the Announcements section because they are very basic (and have probably been around since day one).