StockFetcher Forums · General Discussion · Help with strategies for a beginner<< >>Post Follow-up
lilypond10
4 posts
msg #65195
Ignore lilypond10
7/18/2008 6:25:48 PM

Hi everyone

I need advice on a good start up strategy to learn with.

Here’s my current situation….I’m a high school science teacher with the opportunity to retire either this Dec. or at the end of the year. I traded long 8 years ago have but done very little since except some portfolio management so I’m basically starting from scratch.

I’m not able to trade during the day unless I stay home.

My husband day trades (also is an engineer in a lucky situation that allows it). He’s good enough at it that he expects to make it his job in the near future. So he’s a resource for me but not as a teacher. Also his strategies would not be my choice.

I want to pose these questions as a newbie:

• What strategies would you recommend for someone to start experimenting with?
• Are there strategies that start with the previous day charts and close that I could use the next day?
• I’m currently reading forums on elitetrader, stockfetcher and Brett Steenberger’s sites. What other sites would you recommend?
• I’m also going through a few books on trading psychology (Disciplined Trader, Trading Zone, Come into my Trading Room and Trading for a Living). Other books please?
• My husband has set me onto therumpledone to follow. Any others who are good for beginners?

I've picked up filters for fade the move and am looking at these currently. I haven't tried to trade with them except to feed information to my husband on one. He made a successful trade..

Thanks for any help,
Lily

klynn55
747 posts
msg #65202
Ignore klynn55
7/18/2008 9:25:14 PM

lily: follow 13th floors post and his direction on http://greenonthescreen.blogspot.com/

good advice and he is not selling anything!

a few more tried methods on this site five year tested on tradestation
http://bzbtrader.blogspot.com/