StockFetcher Forums · General Discussion · Invitation to collaboration<< >>Post Follow-up
Boris
5 posts
msg #31446
Ignore Boris
3/18/2004 12:17:42 PM

Invitation to collaboration

Hi fetchers. I am a ‘silver surfer’, based in the UK

I am relatively new to trading, though not a complete novice, but I recognise my limitations. I have considerable respect for the experience and knowledge to be found in the Fetcher community. I hope I can harness just a little of this to advance me on developing my strategy.

I find it extremely interesting that almost everybody contributing seems to have their own particular preferences for TA tools. Given the number of indicators available, and the differing approaches to trading, there is obviously room for everybody to have their own approach.

My particular approach to trading is one based on spread-betting on the price of stocks, rather than one of buying and selling the stocks themselves. The advantages of this approach are that all profits are tax-free, and it gives me tremendous leverage (i.e. I don’t need much capital). There are no dealing costs per transaction (but of course the spread between buying price and selling price represents my dealing cost).

I use www.igindex.co.uk, but there are others.

Using spread betting, I am limited to the stocks for which prices are quoted. Prices are quoted on all the S&P 500 stocks, so I limit myself to these.

I have tested a primitive stock selection strategy which on the face of it (in paper trading) has provided quite a remarkable success rate. In a period of about 2 months, I selected 28 stocks, of which 21 were ‘winners’, and 7 ‘stopped out’. On the basis of a $1 per point, this generated a profit of 4304 points. (Bear in mind that one can ‘bet’ any amount per point). However, these are not particularly accurate figures – they are based on the closing prices, and paper trading is not real life, but it is enough to look promising.

My stock selection strategy is :-