StockFetcher Forums · General Discussion · cegis, your the best so<< >>Post Follow-up
muddytraks
40 posts
msg #31547
Ignore muddytraks
3/29/2004 8:02:28 PM

Im looking for a scan that will pick up stocks in a flag pattern. Is this possible?

cegis
235 posts
msg #31555
Ignore cegis
3/30/2004 8:33:50 AM

muddytraks,

Gee wizz! Thanks!! You make me blush! <G>

Sorry to say, I'm fairly new to TA, so I'm not familiar with the "flag pattern". If you care to describe it (in detail), I'll see what I can come up with. (Or, point me to a description somewhere...)

I find it fun and challenging to write queries (which is all a filter is...) to do things no one ever though possible! Generally speaking, if it can be described, it can be "programmed" into a filter. (There are some exceptions, as the filter syntax does not allow for some operations that would make any generalized query possible [based on what I've seen]...)

C

cegis
235 posts
msg #31587
Ignore cegis
4/1/2004 8:20:32 PM

muddytraks,

My curiosity got the best of me, and I found the flag pattern described at http://www.baresearch.com/education/technical_analysis/chart_patterns/continuation/bull_flag.php

Here's my attempt:

Fetcher[set{flagpole,5 day slope of close 6 days ago} set{fpvol,average volume(5) 6 days ago} set{flag,5 day slope of close 1 day ago} set{fvol,average volume(5) 1 days ago} flagpole is greater than 2 and flag is between -0.2 and 0 and fpvol is greater than fvol and close is greater than close 1 day ago]

Backtesting shows that it matches what appears to me (being a newbie flag pattern user) as some pretty good flags. Some with pretty good payoff, too!

From what I understand of flags, you could change some of the parameters that I used to make similar flag filters. For example, I used 5 days for the "pole" and 5 for the "flag". These could be changed to 4 or 6. You could also add conditions that todays close is greater than the "top of the pole", or similar.