StockFetcher Forums · General Discussion · any SF members trade covered calls?<< >>Post Follow-up
eagleoptions
6 posts
msg #32694
Ignore eagleoptions
7/27/2004 11:12:39 PM

I am studying covered calls and request information from anyone who
is trading covered calls profitably, such as SF filters used, web-site
resources, etc.
From what I have studied, it is best to buy strong stocks after pulling
back from resistance and then starting to move up from support and sell
OTM calls when the stock price reaches resistance. What I want to know is
why not just buy calls and if the option is ITM at expiration, exercise
your right to buy the stock and then sell calls? That way your initial
investment is much smaller, which would result in better diversification than buying stocks initially. If some of the options decrease in value significantly, just take your loses, and hopefully the ones that did go
up will more than make up for the losses. For the options where money was
lost, you wouldn't have wanted that stock anyway.
Are there any SF members experienced with covered calls can say if this
is a viable strategy, and if not, why?

cegis
235 posts
msg #32699
Ignore cegis
7/28/2004 3:37:49 PM

eagleoptions,