StockFetcher Forums · Filter Exchange · Looking for a good momentum screen ...<< 1 2 3 >>Post Follow-up
aallee2
18 posts
msg #28857
Ignore aallee2
9/24/2003 11:58:32 PM

txtrapper

Thanks for the adjustment and recommendation.

Personnally, I prefer this filter with MA(77) for more safety.
I looked the historical analysis for TMAR with both filters.
With MA(77) the first pick was followed by a beautiful appreciation.
With MA(30) the first pick was followed by a depreciation.

I am a newbie in technical analysis and I appreciate a lot the exchange of ideas on this site.

Feel free to write any filter improvement or suggestions.

I have a lot to learn!

TheRumpledOne
6,407 posts
msg #28858
Ignore TheRumpledOne
9/25/2003 1:12:26 AM

RBT:

Glad you are having success.

Here's a link to an article that could bring you riches:

http://www.optionetics.com/articles/article_full.asp?idNo=8558

MAY ALL YOUR FILL BE COMPLETE.

EWZuber
1,373 posts
msg #28862
Ignore EWZuber
9/25/2003 4:30:20 AM

xplorer
Testing momentum filters tonight over trhe past 2 ~ 4 days. This one really shines. Simple yet effective.

Show stocks where high reached a new 124 day high and where volume gained more than 400 percent over Average VolumeAverage Volume(90) is above 100000 and close is between 1 and 15.

More possibilities can be found using different time criteria.

xplorer
257 posts
msg #28863
Ignore xplorer
9/25/2003 7:13:16 AM

EWZuber ... thanks !

I ran your filter ....

Fetcher[Show stocks where high reached a new 124 day high and where volume gained more than 400 percent over Average VolumeAverage Volume(90) is above 100000 and close is between 1 and 15]

..and did a little back testing with good results ! ...now if the market momentum would swing the other way.... Bah-dah-bing !

Fare Well !

TheRumpledOne
6,407 posts
msg #28894
Ignore TheRumpledOne
9/25/2003 10:27:54 PM

I smell a Darvas Box type filter here...

makeroftrades
29 posts
msg #28918
Ignore makeroftrades