StockFetcher Forums · General Discussion · 50 day Crossing 200 day (Golden Cross)<< >>Post Follow-up
vcolaianni
5 posts
msg #82770
Ignore vcolaianni
11/10/2009 3:24:20 PM

I'm trying to run a screen on some stocks to see what the price was when the 50 day moving average crossed above the 200 day moving average. I am new to technical analysis and don't have a clue how to accomplish this. I'm not sure if anyone knew how to do this or if it was possible on SF. Thanks in advance for your help.

Walid
130 posts
msg #82773
Ignore Walid
modified
11/10/2009 3:53:07 PM

It is possible. In fact, it is a prebuilt filter on the home page of the site. On the home page, look at the Quick Picks screen and make sure that Market Technical tab is selected. Click on the [+] sign next to Moving averages, this will expand it to show all the prebuilt filters under this category. The filter you are looking for is the 4th one. Click on it and you are done.
In the future, if you can’t find the filter you want, you can copy any prebuilt filter code to your filters and customize it to do whatever you need. Here is one way to do that.

After you click on any prebuilt filter and the result screen shows up, look at the tabs on top and select Customize. Now you can see the code for this prebuilt filter. Copy it to your My Filters tab and change the parameters to whatever you want.

Welcome aboard

vcolaianni
5 posts
msg #82774
Ignore vcolaianni
11/10/2009 3:58:38 PM

Thanks for the info and help. I'll try it and see how it goes.

vcolaianni
5 posts
msg #82780
Ignore vcolaianni
11/10/2009 4:12:08 PM

Thanks for your help Walid, and that's closer to what I am looking for, but I'm unable to edit the formula to get exactly what I need.