StockFetcher Forums · General Discussion · Backtesting options?<< >>Post Follow-up
eronnenberg
5 posts
msg #160439
Ignore eronnenberg
7/23/2023 12:56:18 PM

I'm relatively new to SF and I'm still learning. It seems that SF used to have a backtesting feature that was closed a few years go.

So what's the best option for backtesting now? I can create a filter and go back through and do manual backtesting. But is there another site that allows backtesting of custom filters similar to what we can create here on SF? I'd like to make this an easier and more accurate process.

shillllihs
5,979 posts
msg #160440
Ignore shillllihs
7/24/2023 11:47:55 AM

You won’t get much help out here, there’s a lot of backbiting when you get too successful and coders get resentful when they learn that all that money they spent on school & student loans didn’t help them out in the stock market.

wantonellis
156 posts
msg #160441
Ignore wantonellis
7/24/2023 12:54:19 PM

https://www.marketinout.com/ has a powerful back testing tool with 20 years of data. There's a scripting language learning curve as always, however the help topics cover everything needed. https://www.marketinout.com/help/docs.php

+ They have a real time data screener, watchlists, portfolio tracking, alerts, etc. Good luck.

eronnenberg
5 posts
msg #160444
Ignore eronnenberg
7/25/2023 11:31:08 AM

Looking back through these forums, and pouring through the wealth of knowledge and finding ideas to try, I did notice a lot of back and forth between people. Often bickering of seemingly little things. It's a little off-putting seeing as we're all trying to accomplish the same thing here.

Thanks, wantonellis, for the suggestion. I've come across that site before, but wasn't sure what all it'd entail. I'm not necessarily looking to backtest 50+ line filters that can be created on here. But if I can test simple custom filters just to get a better idea of how they'd pan out, I'll give it a shot.

nibor100
1,010 posts
msg #160446