StockFetcher Forums · General Discussion · Best indicators for short-term long/short filters<< >>Post Follow-up
et5301
3 posts
msg #59754
Ignore et5301
2/18/2008 10:48:23 AM

I'm just getting started with this, but I would appreciate any help with ideas for indicators that seem to work best for determining short-term direction.

Specifically, I'm trying to create filters that would indicate a high probability of price being higher (or lower) than the current price by any amount in two weeks time. For example, a filter that would return a 75 percent probability of a stock closing at a lower price in two weeks than it closed yesterday. Indicator parameters could be tightened so that only a few results are generated per week.

I realize this is pretty general, but if anyone could tell me which indicators to start playing with, or better yet point me to some existing filters that might be useful, I would be grateful!

Thanks in advance,
Matt

rtucker
318 posts
msg #59755
Ignore rtucker
2/18/2008 11:26:25 AM

Just my two cents,

Two weeks is a longer hold/time frame than what the majority of
the filters and topics on these forums are about.

This could be a nice thread if others give their opinions.

I am constantly trying to increase my holding time and reduce trading.
My reading list now consists mainly of "trend following" methods

I need the market moving in the direction of my trade

I need a watchlist of 100-150 stocks that are currently benefitting
from stong secular trends and/or have good relative strength

I need to keep up on macro stuff and news that effect my stocks.

I need a filter that shows me a pulback; like 3 down days followed
by an up day.

I need to stay away from daytraders. (high volatility)

Well then, Hows it going you may ask ? Not very well thank-you.
But I have had my moments. Like catching a 35% move. But also
giving back 10% on another pick.

There are a many techniacal indicators such as ADX and MACD that fall