StockFetcher Forums · General Discussion · Does anyone use trailing stops?<< >>Post Follow-up
Venice
82 posts
msg #88144
Ignore Venice
2/11/2010 3:55:18 PM

While I am currently formulating my strategy, some of my order types involve the use of VTSO orders.

I have never used these before, as I have always done limit on the buy & sell.

While I understand these need to have a set range to allow growth while minimizing losses, my concern more so lays on the side of the actual market order.

Is it uncommon to get filled outside of a few cents of where the stop loss was set? It would seem rather redundant to me that not only does the stock half to fall in price to trigger the stop, but then our old market maker friends can decide to give us a really crappy fill on the order.

Maybe mental stop losses are the better route. Just looking for thoughts, opinions, ideas, experience etc etc when using a VTSO order, and if I should just hoist the white flag and adhere to the words spoken 'Ye who enter here abandon all hope'.

BarTune1
441 posts
msg #88150
Ignore BarTune1
2/11/2010 7:59:38 PM

Mike is the expert on stops ...

fortyfour
189 posts
msg #88153
Ignore fortyfour
modified
2/11/2010 9:40:50 PM

I would use trailing stops.......maybe......

That is if I could have a damn trade go in my direction....

Therefore, I must spend all my time on all those other things....

Trailing stops are a luxury.....

PS:
The one or two times I tried sell limits it didnt go well....just sell.

miketranz
956 posts
msg #88158
Ignore miketranz
modified
2/11/2010 10:24:41 PM