StockFetcher Forums · General Discussion · Full time traders...where do you get health insurance<< 1 2 >>Post Follow-up
dforant1
76 posts
msg #71460
Ignore dforant1
2/15/2009 6:53:13 PM

klynn55 2/14/2009 8:51:32 PM

I'm self employed, Blue Cross, Pa bill came, ruined my weekend, raised to $932.00 per month for me and the wife. I'll be bagging groceries in my 90's to pay for hospitalization.
********************************************************************************

Klynn,
you should be able to join a Chamber of Commerce and get a decent price. I was self employed and paid about $900 per quarter. Annual dues was about $250. They offer several plans. Blue Cross generally bleeds you out. Also call your Small Business Bureau for ideas.

Good luck.

guru_trader
485 posts
msg #71461
Ignore guru_trader
modified
2/16/2009 4:10:14 AM

I've been using Assurant Health for over 10 years. They are a bit pricey but I've never had problems with them.

maxreturn
745 posts
msg #71469
Ignore maxreturn
2/16/2009 7:36:33 PM

Thanks everyone. Good trading to all of you in 2009 and beyond.

Max

Radiomuse
288 posts
msg #71512
Ignore Radiomuse
2/18/2009 3:23:28 PM

Try www.esurance.com I live in IL, went with a PPO from Unicare for about $120/month.

BuylateSellearly
29 posts
msg #71556
Ignore BuylateSellearly
2/19/2009 6:03:45 PM

My trading bot IS my health insurance.

FuriousThug
256 posts
msg #73042
Ignore FuriousThug
3/24/2009 1:32:53 AM

An HSA is one of the only real tax benefits people can get (other than retirement contributions and mortgage interest deductions).

Health Savings Account (and, no, it's not an Archer or MSA or FSA). This is a health plan (mandatorily a high-deductible health plan) administered by a number of different providers (Blue Cross, Kaiser, etc.) that's coupled with a bank (Chase, et al.).

Briefly, from wikipedia: