StockFetcher Forums · General Discussion · Help with MA filter<< >>Post Follow-up
ravinandan
1 posts
msg #60158
Ignore ravinandan
3/3/2008 11:35:35 PM

I'm new to writing filters, have created some basic ones that have worked great, but I can't figure this one out. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I'm trying to create filter that will give me results for stocks that have an increasing MA(10) (it doesn't matter how long they've been increasing, a day or a month) and where the stock has closed consistently below the MA since it started increasing and has just now crossed or closed above the MA.

As this isn't date specific, as in, close is below for 1 day, or 2 days, etc. I'm having trouble with the syntax.

Thanks again for the help.

marine2
963 posts
msg #60162
Ignore marine2
3/4/2008 1:11:10 AM

Ty changing the MA number to read MA(20) instead of MA(10). At least you get some decent filtered picks from this:

and ma(20) is increasing previous 30 days
and price is below ma(20) previous 2 days
and macd(4,8)fast line is crossing above macd(4,8)slow line at close

The macd(4,8) action will be your buy trigger.

nikoschopen
2,824 posts
msg #60163
Ignore nikoschopen
3/4/2008 2:01:01 AM

Quote from ravinandan:

I'm trying to create filter that will give me results for stocks that have an increasing MA(10) (it doesn't matter how long they've been increasing, a day or a month) and where the stock has closed consistently below the MA since it started increasing and has just now crossed or closed above the MA.

Only way for any moving average to rise higher is for the underlying stock to first cross and remain above the moving average.

zeezeetop
30 posts
msg #60164
Ignore zeezeetop
3/4/2008 4:48:07 AM

This is a slightly different way to achieve a similar goal. It's called the Mud Zone and was written by Muddy. I have changed a line or two although the logic is there.