StockFetcher Forums · General Discussion · Is this a valid newbie approach?<< >>Post Follow-up
tulanch
24 posts
msg #49056
Ignore tulanch
1/8/2007 3:25:06 PM

I’m a newbie and wanted to put my thoughts down about my approach as some other newbie in the future may find it enlightening - I've been reading the technical bibles and testing in a simulator (need one that does not have a 20 minute delay). I also greatly enjoy reading this forum and know there is a lot to learn via experience. But my reading has again and again eluted to KISS - Keep It Simple Stupid. I’ve read the SF links about “waiting for green” and the “bb squeeze”. From knowledge of how bb’s are derived mathematically, I came to the conclusion that the “bb squeeze” occurs on consolidation patterns such as a right ascending triangles (yea there’s the newbie in me – triangles love em, understand em). I also find the alignment of the “3 days down filter” interesting, especially when it overlaps within the 2/3’rds area of a triangle’s apex. What is even more interesting is that SF can do all of this for me via a single filter and present me a list of candidates! So at night, say I find 30 or so candidates in the price range I live in. I review them looking for “reasons not to purchase” …reviewing past history performance…potential or coiled up energy if you will…even number crosses …review previous support and resistance levels, and volume patterns, plus obtain ATR values (5, 10 and 20 day) of these stocks. I then end up with a final listing of what I would be interested in buying… this takes maybe an hour. I store all this data in a spread sheet including expected initial purchase prices, calculated/defined initial stops, and calculated/defined expected out prices. I then build a screener with these stocks symbols - on a service that has intraday updates (yahoo offers this plus I can import a CSV file of the symbols to create the screen of, in the same order as stored in my spread sheet). The next morning