StockFetcher Forums · General Discussion · MACD positive divergence<< 1 2 >>Post Follow-up
GI30065
7 posts
msg #31265
Ignore GI30065
3/2/2004 4:36:32 PM

Hello All,

Let me introduce myself, I'm Marc and live in Belgium.
I have been a trader for about 10 years now.
And guess what, I'm a brand new subscriber to StockFetcher !
I have been studying this forum and StockFetcher for about 2 weeks now.
And I can tell that SF is one of the best TA programs available on the market today.
I know what I'm talking about, because I currently use Metastock, Omnitrader and Hermes.
First I want to THANK all the persons who contribute to this wonderful forum.
There are really some wizards out here !

And now my question, it's something I've been looking for all of my live.
I think we all agree ==> one of the most powerful buy signals is a positive divergence of the MACD against the closing price.
If you have looked at the chart of SanDisk Corp (SNDK) recently, you'll know what I'm talking about.
Every night I spent hours looking for stocks who have such a divergence, now I'm looking for a program which can automate this.

For this we need 2 points I think (please correct me if I'm wrong), two times a MACD crossover.
And we need a formula which can link an event (MACD crossover) to the closing price at the moment the event occurred.
The first line of the filter is very simple ==> Show stocks where MACD fast line(12,26) crossed above MACD slow line(12,26) within the last 0 days ago
For the second crossover we need exactly the same event, except it needs to be the previous crossover ( not the one "fast line crossed below" but the one "fast line crossed above")
Both crossovers are linked to specific dates (the dates that both events occurred) which are linked to specific closing prices.
Again the first date and closing price are simple, it's the date and closing price the filter is run.