StockFetcher Forums · General Discussion · OBV crosses.... what is the correct syntax?<< 1 2 3 >>Post Follow-up
ImperialWhazoo
26 posts
msg #38970
Ignore ImperialWhazoo
11/19/2005 4:58:42 PM

I seldom ask anybody for help because I'm not trying some of the realy sophisticated things many of you folks are into. That having been said, I have a question of the community regarding the cross of the red & blue lines when the OBV is used. I've hammered away on this for literally hundreds of hours and I'm still not able to figure it out. So please lend me a hand, folks.

First: Heres a filter I run:

Show stocks where MA(40) has been increasing over the last 3 days
and average volume(40) is above 300000
and Slow Stochastic(12) Fast %K is below 50
and close is between .05 and 5
and draw OBV(12)

Now, here are the settings I am using:

Draw MA(7)
Draw MA(12)
Draw MA(40)
Draw Bollinger Bands(20,2.0)

Here's what I'm aiming at:
I am a day trader. I trade stocks between 5 cents and 5 dollars. I trade for a living. I have observed that, when these two sets of crosses happen within the same timeframe, a very profitable day-trade and/or swing trade follows just like clockwork. The problem is not one of screening for crosses of the %K & %D. The problem is screening for the crosses of the OBV lines.

In my opinion, the event I'm trying to screen for will work regardless of the price range of the stocks you trade. Also, it can be used in reverse if you want to short.

So, do the following steps
Start by running the above filter with the above settings as I list them. Today (Saturday, Nov 19, 2005) I got 40 hits from this screen. Now, start pulling up the graphs in the list and notice a blue OBV line and a red OBV EMA(12) line. There is also a Slow Stochastic(12,3) graph with %K displayed in blue and %D in red.

The screen I have not succeeded in constructing would spot the following events: