StockFetcher Forums · General Discussion · Strong multi-mth consolidation scan...<< >>Post Follow-up
jhenninger
63 posts
msg #90666
Ignore jhenninger
4/1/2010 3:21:19 PM

Hello all,

Just had a quick question about some syntax. I am basically trying to create a scan that has the ability of catching technical patterns that are similar to the action EK has experienced over the past 2 months. One that essentially looks for stocks that staged a big move about 2-mths ago and have been consolidating that advance in a quiet manner since. I'm not very tech savvy so I thought that I might be able to do this by simply using basic references to how much the stock was above its 20-day ema at certain intervals over the past few months. For instance, initially saying that the stock was greater than 30% above its 20-day ema 60 days ago, then less than 15% above its 20-day ema 40 days ago, then less than 10% above its 20-day ema 30 days ago, then less than 5% above its 20-day ema 20 days ago... (and so on). However, this doesn't seem to be working. I'm not sure if this type of syntax is possible or if I'm simply not using it correctly. Any thoughts or suggestions here? If I can't walk price "backwards" like I mentioned above, then I thought that I could essentially accomplish the same thing by using similar metrics within an RSI figure (for instance, RSI(5) was greater than 90 60 days ago and then walk it back down as the time nears). As you can see, I'm just trying to find a way of capturing a healthy "high level" consolidation. Is this possible with what I have in mind?

Thank you all so much,

Jon

StockFetcher Forums · General Discussion · Strong multi-mth consolidation scan...<< >>Post Follow-up