StockFetcher Forums · General Discussion · TRO<< >>Post Follow-up
JimG
9 posts
msg #42354
Ignore JimG
3/23/2006 12:56:27 AM

I have been watching these boards since I joined and posted my original hello post. What I have discovered is that I really know very little about the technical side of trading.

Let me give you a little history on my trading. I started on 13 Dec by opening a Sharebuilder account with 2000.00 dollars. I realized very quickly that Sharebuilder wasn't for me and had closed the account within a week and transferred my original investment plus the 300.00 I had made to E-trade. I added an additional 7700.00 dollars to the account bringing the total to 10K. I started trading and did fairly well over the next few weeks. By the end of January I was able to fully fund an IRA account for 2005 and 2006 from some of the profits while bringing my regular account up to almost 30k.

I did this with stocks like Taser and Irobot and ATI, along with a bunch of others thrown in. I had my misses but by religiously using a stop or trailing stop I was able to keep losses to a minimum. Then I did something very bad, I decided I needed to really learn how to use the charts I was looking at. In the last 4 weeks I have given back about 3000.00 dollars. I sat down last night and evaluated what was causing me to make so many loosing trades all of a sudden and realized that it isn’t that I am picking the wrong stocks as I am totally blowing my entry and exit points. I have been reading all the posts on all the forums here and the underlying theme seems to be what you end every post with. To paraphrase –It’s not what you trade but how you trade it-.