StockFetcher Forums · General Discussion · Volatility Analysis - VIX spikes and SPX follow through 1-3 days later<< 1 ... 4 5 6 7 8 ... 9 >>Post Follow-up
Kevin_in_GA
4,599 posts
msg #82727
Ignore Kevin_in_GA
11/9/2009 9:57:00 PM

I think you are smarter than me ... or at least you have more patience ...
+++++++++++++++++++++++++

Doubt it on both counts.

Make no mistake ... I am studying your trading style, like a young jedi learns from his master.

tmanbone
124 posts
msg #82733
Ignore tmanbone
modified
11/9/2009 10:59:59 PM

when you can snatch the pebble from the masters hand grasshoppa

BarTune1
441 posts
msg #82737
Ignore BarTune1
11/9/2009 11:22:06 PM

Kevin,

I cant take too much credit for my strategy .... but I will tell you this .... the best couple books I ever read on trading were Short Term Trading Stategies That Work and High Probability ETF Trading both by Larry Connors ... about $40 each ...

I dont know if you can locate copies but I highly recommend them .... I would have saved myself lots and lots of cash over the last 10-15 years if they had been available long ago ....

I'd be tempted to loan you my books if you wanted but the friggin postage to and from the US here is around $20 each way ....

Kevin_in_GA
4,599 posts
msg #82746
Ignore Kevin_in_GA
11/10/2009 6:59:29 AM

when you can snatch the pebble from the masters hand grasshoppa
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I was going to use the "Kung Fu" analogy, but since BarTune is Canadian I thought he might not have seen that show (now 35 years ago). I still use the pebble analogy with some of the younger scientists I work with, but increasingly they just look at me with a blank stare when I say it.

BarTune: I have already asked for both books as a Christmas gift. May just pick up one in advance and swap out for a book on options.

As it stands this morning, futures are down slightly, and the $USD looks fairly strong. Might jump into some trades this morning if the market turns south.