StockFetcher Forums · General Discussion · What You Need to Know about Stock Charts<< >>Post Follow-up
TheRumpledOne
6,407 posts
msg #46622
Ignore TheRumpledOne
8/27/2006 12:08:50 PM

What You Need to Know about Stock Charts
Stockscores.com Perspectives for the week ending August 26, 2006

I remember the first time someone showed me a stock chart. I was a University student studying Finance and had been indoctrinated with the obligatory financial theory about buying companies with good earnings and low P/E ratios. The guy who showed me a stock chart was a bit of wing nut, discussing waves and patterns and stochastic blah blah blah.

My friends and I secretly scoffed at him but I did follow the stocks he told me to watch. While I had no idea understanding of his methods I did find that his stock picks did what he said they would. Maybe there was something to the charts.

And so began my study of technical analysis. I still believe that many chartists are wing nuts but I do think that any investor can benefit from some education on how charts work. Here is a list of the things that every investor should know about stock charts.

1. The stock chart represents a record of what investors perceive. The stock market is a battle between buyers and sellers and the chart is the scoreboard. It tells a story about how information is interpreted by investors and their emotional reaction to that information.
2. Rising bottoms on a chart represent investor optimism.
3. Falling tops on a chart represent investor pessimism.
4. The highs that a market makes establish a price ceiling that serves as a psychological barrier. This line of resistance is strengthened the more times it is touched and the longer it holds up
5. The lows that a market makes establish a price floor that serves as a psychological barrier. This line of support is strengthened the more times it is touched and the longer it holds up.