StockFetcher Forums · General Discussion · Why not OTCBB?<< >>Post Follow-up
maxreturn
745 posts
msg #35035
Ignore maxreturn
2/1/2005 8:14:21 AM

I am a newbie to stockfetcher but not to trading stocks. I am working on some filters to capitalize on the volatility of lower priced stocks but have read mixed reviews on trading OTCBB. Would appreciate some feedback from those who have experience trading lower priced stocks as to the pitfalls. Thank you!

TheRumpledOne
6,407 posts
msg #35038
Ignore TheRumpledOne
2/1/2005 12:02:17 PM

Pitfalls...

If you don't manage the trade, you can watch your funds drop 50% or more in a blink of an eye.

If you do manage the trade, you can rake in 5% gains or more daily!

MAY ALL YOUR FILLS BE COMPLETE.

maxreturn
745 posts
msg #35041
Ignore maxreturn
2/1/2005 3:02:47 PM

Thanks rumpled one. A followup question...In doing more research I've discovered that one cannot place a limit order for stocks traded on the OTCBB. My assumption is that the bid-ask spreads can be ridiculous on the more thinly traded stocks but that it would be more manageable on the more heavily traded stocks. From reading your posts I know you're one of the more experienced traders here. Would appreciate your feedback on what the typical bid-ask spreads at given levels of daily volume. What minimum volume levels do you require to trade a stock? thank you!

Chuck

TheRumpledOne
6,407 posts
msg #35043
Ignore TheRumpledOne
2/1/2005 10:50:58 PM

You CAN place limit orders to buy and sell OTCBB stocks.

Volume requirements are personal... more of an art than a science.

You need volume to SELL!

If you have a stock that went up but no buyers, you can't sell.

Some OTCBB stocks may trade 50,000 shares or less for day, weeks, months, then one day, 500,000 shares or more trade hands and next thing you know the price has doubled, tripled or more!