StockFetcher Forums · General Discussion · counting patterns<< 1 2 >>Post Follow-up
marksteu
6 posts
msg #44353
Ignore marksteu
5/29/2006 1:37:00 AM

I have limited knowledge of how to apply the count feature to certain predefined patterns such as:
set{bulen,count(pattern is bullish engulfing,50)}

But, how do I count how many times the following pattern occurred in a certain time period, say 50 days.
close has decreased for the last 2 days lag 1 day
and close is above close 1 day ago

Thanks in advance...

nikoschopen
2,824 posts
msg #44357
Ignore nikoschopen
modified
5/29/2006 2:14:41 AM

Mark,

Welcome to SF.

Let us start by taking a very simple setup to illustrate how count feature, in conjuction with a set statement, may be used to answer ure question. For this example, we'll start with the premise "price crossed above MA(50)".

1) price crossed above MA(50) //this will fetch stocks that crossed above its 50-day moving average

2) count(price crossed above MA(50),50) is above 0 //this will fetch stocks that have crossed above its 50-day moving average at least once in the past 50 days.

3) set{Xover, count(price crossed above MA(50),50)} //here, we're assigning the expression enclosed within the previous count function to "Xover".

4) add column Xover //Now we add a column with the same name to have the StockFetcher tell us how many times the damn stock made the crossover above the MA(50) within the last 50 days. You merely need to look under the column header "Xover" to see the number of times the crossover occured.

So Here's the entire filter:
Fetcher[
set{Xover, count(price crossed above MA(50),50)}
add column Xover
sort column 5 descending
]

itrademan
70 posts
msg #44359
Ignore itrademan
5/29/2006 2:48:40 AM

I have noticed that pre-defined pattern e.g. diferent triangles do not work in the count sytanx. I have not tested the cup-handle or double-bottom but it seems the 'count' function does not support these phrases.

Anyone with similar experience?