StockFetcher Forums · General Discussion · how to buy "pool of stocks"<< >>Post Follow-up
shelupinin
120 posts
msg #37627
Ignore shelupinin
8/25/2005 5:19:19 AM

Hi!
Is there any way to buy "pool of stocks" together with someone else? For example, I have some strategy and want to buy stocks, and I want to buy all stocks which meet strategy requirements to diversify risk, but I don't have enought money to buy all of them, (say 20-30 different stocks), so I'd like to pool my money together with several other people, it's like an investment club... Any ideas?
Alex

roncarn
21 posts
msg #37638
Ignore roncarn
8/25/2005 10:18:51 PM

It sounds like you want to start a "Mutual Fund". Or buy a ETF. Pooling money with someone else can be a problem with taxes and the decision making as to what to buy and what and when to sell. Good Luck.

BrysonWest
3 posts
msg #37643
Ignore BrysonWest
8/26/2005 1:17:28 AM

Have you heard of Sharebuilder? I have no experience with it but have come across it in my research. It's http://www.sharebuilder.com. They allow purchasing of partial shares. (eg 1/2 share of IBM). Let us know what you think, if you investigate further. Ellen

shelupinin
120 posts
msg #37647
Ignore shelupinin
8/26/2005 9:17:24 AM

to roncar: yes, I'd like to start "mutual fund" ! it's not bad idea to use own strategies and don't risk own money :) by the way, did someone noticed that there are a lot of very poor performed mutual funds? I use http://www.smartmoney.com/fundfinder to see fund performance, there are sooo many fund with negative performance for YTD, 1 year, 2 years, 5 years etc...
I guess many people here, on SF forum, being hired as fund manager, would show much better performance!!! Why those fund owners don't discharge managers who shows negative performance?
... starting own "mutual fund" is pretty expensive thing, even offshore one, http://www.webcom.com/offshore/shlaw/mutual.htm