StockFetcher Forums · General Discussion · Question For Stockfetcher Support<< >>Post Follow-up
230 posts
msg #113275
Ignore wkloss
5/10/2013 11:31:08 AM

Some members do a great job developing, refining and backtesting systems yet they spend a lot of time answering repetitive and sometimes silly questions (some of which could be mine).

Have you ever considered something like a home page where system developers could post the latest version of their system, latest backtesting, latest instructions on how to use the system etc?

Of course, the developers would have to want to use this so perhaps some of them could comment on this idea.

3,836 posts
msg #113282
Ignore Kevin_in_GA
5/10/2013 1:44:46 PM

As one who periodically posts systems here, I would proabably just continue doing it as I have in the past.

I would rather have SF be more proactive in these forums. There are simply too many times where they could answer a question quickly but choose to wait until others take it upon themselves to help. What ends up happening is that a few members act as the SF support staff for SF code syntax and filter design.

Why not propose that they create a tutorial section, where they walk people through how to achieve specific objectives within the current filter and code limits? That would be more helpful.

805 posts
msg #113283
Ignore marine2
5/10/2013 1:58:04 PM

If a member here does have a problem, they can access SF support people via their email address they provide.

SF support staff normally answers the problem / question pretty quickly. Many of us instead present the question in the Forum first and if the response is not to the questioner's liking he or she then can go to SF's email support address. Or the member can access the data file archives (via the Forum search window) to see if their problem has been addressed before and answered. Use that previous communication to answer their question. Their has been a few times on here I forget to use the archived data and that's my fault.

963 posts
msg #113287
5/10/2013 2:17:06 PM

Hi All,

We appreciate the feedback. Historically we avoided support in the public forums for a number of reasons. I would agree that it's a good time to give this another shot.

We'll do our best to promptly answer questions posted in these forums.

With respect to the backtesting topics, we'll start working on some detailed tutorials. Please let us know the topics you'd like us to give priority to.

Best Regards, Support

805 posts
msg #113288
Ignore marine2
5/10/2013 2:26:17 PM

SF, thank you for responding to this thread. Concerning the Backtest questions, please if you could, go into the Backtest Forum section and look at the 3 threads, 2 dated 5/10/13 and the other dated 5/9/13. Those 3 threads enlightens you to what we see as our most recent problems & / or questions on the Backtest subject. Thanks!

963 posts
msg #113290
5/10/2013 2:28:25 PM

Will do.

Thanks, Support

805 posts
msg #125742
Ignore marine2
10/22/2015 5:33:44 PM

Letter to S.F. Support group:

Problem with Graphing Capability While in New Beta S.F.
When using my Apple I-Pad Air tablet and using your non beta design. When getting filter results from one of my, "MyFilter" filters, let's say it pulls 3 results (companies) and it shows the 3 graphs. I then go into one of them via its "Historical" section located on its chart. Once I am into its "Historical" chart I used to be able to see this chart and see the "buy" arrows from previous times from this filter's programming. Also, I was able to navigate back in time to see more previous "hits", "buy" arrows, on this filter, and having the ability to use my finger to slide the graph up or down on the screen to see everything. Now with this new beta design once I go into the "Historical" section of a specific company's graph not only can I not see the "buy" arrows, but also I can not use the chart for going back in time to see other previous "buy" arrows, or move the chart up or down on my screen. Another words, your beta design has a problem with using the "Historical" section to a graph to which it was found from one of my filters I have saved.

Please find out why the new beta design is not working right in this regard.

Thank you, and please send me a response back soon.

Gary M. Roberts (user name: Marinetoo)

963 posts
msg #125743
10/22/2015 6:03:44 PM

Hi -

Thank you for the additional details. Unfortunately, we don't see the same issues you mention. When we pull up filter results on the iPad (via Safari) we are able to see the red Historical link.

Clicking on that results in a display with a chart that includes the green arrows where the filter matched the symbol prevoiusly:

Additionally, at the top of this page is an area where you can adjust the end-date for the chart:

Any additional details you can provide will help us further understand this issue.

StockFetcher Support

StockFetcher Forums · General Discussion · Question For Stockfetcher Support<< >>Post Follow-up

*** Disclaimer *** does not endorse or suggest any of the securities which are returned in any of the searches or filters. They are provided purely for informational and research purposes. does not recommend particular securities., Vestyl Software, L.L.C. and involved content providers shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken based on the content.

Copyright 2016 - Vestyl Software L.L.C.Terms of Service | License | Questions or comments? Contact Us
EOD Data sources: DDFPlus & CSI Data Quotes delayed during active market hours. Delay times are at least 15 mins for NASDAQ, 20 mins for NYSE and Amex. Delayed intraday data provided by DDFPlus