StockFetcher Forums · Filter Exchange · Newbie Question<< >>Post Follow-up
ryboflavin
3 posts
msg #38971
Ignore ryboflavin
11/19/2005 9:09:30 PM

Hey traders,

I've been trading for about 6 months now and have not made a dime. I haven't lost any either, so that's a plus. This site is exactly what I've been looking for, so I joined about a week ago. I've been backtesting my filters and some that are posted with pretty good results. My rookie question is: What signals should I be looking for the next day before I pull the trigger? A higher open and higher high?

RC

judgetrade
107 posts
msg #38975
Ignore judgetrade
11/20/2005 10:06:25 AM

ryboflavin,
that is a big plus!

Be careful back testing. The back testing machine does not give real results.
You need liquidity, for example. Bid ask spread and so on. In certain screens it calculates wrongly (entry one or two days later then the screen).

Nevertheless: This site can make you very successful, if you are willing to put in a lot of work.

Specialize on one robust trading principles (for example momentum or reversal).
I personally test every screen that pops up in the forum which is based on reversal (basically you are buying panic and short term overreaction).

Special thanks to the TheRumpledOne, who pointed me to Rsi(2) < 1 (principle Reversal) and all its screen combinations. Thank you for the rest of the team as well.

If you have found a good filter, then built you strategy: Bet size optimization: I always bet the same amount, and reinvest 50% of my winnings (so the bet size grows slowly). I hold for 3-4 Days (good for reversal strats).
I do not wait for green [search the forum to get explanation], the more the stock lost the better. I do not average down. I do not use stops (only do this if you bet very, very small, the bet size is the maximum amount I want to loose, so I use an "internal" stop through the small bet size).