StockFetcher Forums · Filter Exchange · Short Filter--> 3-4 week timeframe<< >>Post Follow-up
hammertime17
1 posts
msg #59510
Ignore hammertime17
2/6/2008 7:51:09 PM

Hi there,

I am new to the Stock Fetcher forum and am posting this short stock filter to see if anyone has any suggestions for improvement:

Upper Bollinger Band(20,2) below Close
and RSI(15) above 80
and Average Volume(90) above 50000
and Close above 1

I have back tested this bearish strategy every year since 2002 and the annual ROI averages around 35% per year (not bad!) during a great bull market from 2002 to 2007. The concern I have is that this filter shows ~2500 trades per year, and even with a deep discounted broker, these commissions can add up significantly!

---Can anyone suggest any improvements to this short filter (5% stop loss, 10% profit exit, or 20 days) to reduce the number of trades and increase the win/loss ratio?

Thanks in advance!
Mike

nikoschopen
2,824 posts
msg #59515
Ignore nikoschopen
2/6/2008 9:50:30 PM

Here's the result of what you would see after 3 weeks or 15 days. Feel free to change the number to suit ure needs.

nikoschopen
2,824 posts
msg #59516
Ignore nikoschopen
2/6/2008 10:36:19 PM

Okay, perhaps this is more pertinent to ure question. The date offset of 10 is included to see how the stocks fared after 10 days. However, it appears that you would do well by buying at the close and selling at the following day's open.

Fetcher[
Upper Bollinger Band(20,2) below Upper Keltner Band(10)
and RSI(15) below 50
and Average Volume(90) above 500000
and Close above 20

date offset 10
]

Assuming that you have ample experience with previous bear markets, have you actually held a position for 3-4 weeks? You must have some real nerve of steel to sit through a volatile environment like now, Moreover, there's no guarantee that the damn stock(s) will dive for the next 3 weeks.

BTW, nice nick. When will we have our own "Milli Vanilli"? {8^)

maxreturn
745 posts
msg #59524