StockFetcher Forums · Filter Exchange · Simple Exit Points<< >>Post Follow-up
choop
3 posts
msg #30462
Ignore choop
1/4/2004 3:20:04 AM

I'm new to StockFetcher so please forgive my ignorance. What are some of the simplest/best filters for determining exit points?

txtrapper
548 posts
msg #30465
Ignore txtrapper
1/4/2004 10:31:56 AM

choop

I don't use a filter for exit points, filters are only for finding stocks meeting certain criteria.

I depend on Stochastics Fast(5,3) and Stochstics Slow (5,3) and CCI(10) for exits. Add them below your filters and look at a lot of stocks, watch how these indicators react to recent pullbacks.

Hope that helps,

TxTrapper

choop
3 posts
msg #30470
Ignore choop
1/4/2004 1:08:45 PM

Thanks TxTrapper,

I appreciate you taking the time to help a newbie....

When using Stochastics Fast(5,3) and Stochstics Slow (5,3) and CCI(10) are you looking for these indicators above/below/approaching certain numbers?

What I was looking to do is setup a few filters that would signal a sell for a stock that I bought on a previous day(s), which another filter identified . Is this a decent approach?

For example, one of my sell filters might be "CCI(10) is above +100". How would I structure (syntax) the Stochastics Fast(5,3) and Stochstics Slow (5,3) as a filter for identifying an overbought stock (ie. at it's peak)?

txtrapper
548 posts
msg #30471
Ignore txtrapper
1/4/2004 1:51:03 PM

Choop

I use all the indicators on one filter, click on settings, then My Filters and set it up your way. Of course you shouldn't use one indicator for buying or selling.

CCI(10) when it crosses the 0 line from below,(buy), when it crosses the 0 line from above, (sell).

The other two Fast Stochastic is an early signal, don't use that for selling or buying, but if it turns down, then look at Slow Stochastics for a confirmation and vice versa.