StockFetcher Forums · Filter Exchange · Up Day based on # of down days<< >>Post Follow-up
CaseyDavisMadeMeDoIt
2 posts
msg #154596
Ignore CaseyDavisMadeMeDoIt
11/10/2020 5:56:56 PM

I'm new to StockFetcher but want to get a new filter rolling. I searched the Forums but can't find an exact match.

Here's what I'm looking for:

# days down (user defined)
Based on stock matching the above, what has been historical data that shows a stock will rebound the next day?
Output a % of up day chance
Output a % gain on that specific up day.
Output only results that achieve higher % than user defined

Run the filter and get the following:
For example, Stock "A" has been down 3 (user defined) consecutive days.
- Output - It has happened 12 times in the past "user defined period".
- Output - Out of those 12 times, 75% (8 of 12) of the time it goes up the next day
- Output - Out of those 8 days, it goes up an average of 4.2%
- Output - Only show stocks that rebound more than 3.2% (user defined)

nibor100
1,010 posts
msg #154602
Ignore nibor100
11/11/2020 1:50:46 PM

1. To make it easier on any of us to help you it would be nice if you could post your working filter or the filter your search turned up that was closest to what you envision.

2. I have a few questions regarding your "Run the filter and get the following:" section

a. In this line

- Output - It has happened 12 times in the past "user defined period".

is the '12' user defined or is it just the past "user defined period" that is user defined?

I believe the most days in the past that SF will allow a filter to capture statistics from is 252 at a time, then you have to use a date offset to move it back a year and you can search back another 252 days from then...

b. in the following line:

"- Output - Out of those 12 times, 75% (8 of 12) of the time it goes up the next day"

Did you mean to get 66.6...% or 9 of 12?