StockFetcher Forums · Filter Exchange · dma(28,-14) / ema(13) crossover filter<< >>Post Follow-up
djones000buck
206 posts
msg #39915
Ignore djones000buck
1/3/2006 9:44:57 PM

I know a lot of filters have come from the dma(28,-14) and rsi(2) filters, I posted this to another thread but thought it may be worthy of its own thread. But utilizing any of the dma(28,-14) filters plot the ema(13) ema(13) crossovers depict entry and exits.

Problem is I can't get the crossed below/above to work, it's probably me because I am a newbie. But take a minute and look at a few examples I think you will be interested. Note MSFT and QQQQ's most recent moves a month or so back... Almost perfect entry's and exits, and those aren't the only ones. Seems almost like the more volume the stock carries the more accurate the scan is (or would be if I could get it to work)...

Pretty interesting, I have been back testing through different time periods and it seems to be pretty consistent, and in fact seems to work for shorts, also. It is a little difficult because the filter doesn't actually find the crossovers of the ema and dma yet.

If you have something that works would you mind sharing?

Also I am still working on my SF coding skills but what about adding a column to find stocks with the largest variance between the ema and dma values for a particular day/offset?

Thanks for the help in advance this has been a great site to learn at.

stocktrader
294 posts
msg #39916
Ignore stocktrader
1/3/2006 10:21:44 PM

I've found that using the dma(24,-14) as the entry is interesting on the Riggs/TRO filter. Due diligence required as I've only done some backtesting and not actually traded this method.

Entry:
1) Open price must be below dma(24,-14)
2) Price crosses above dma(24,-14)for entry
3) RSI(2) should be rising near at least > 50
4) Place a volitility stop after entry (v_sell_stop)
5) Exit before the daily close as a day trade

add to filter:

set{Threshold, dma(24,-14)}