StockFetcher Forums · General Discussion · Can you make money on TA alone?<< 1 2 3 4 >>Post Follow-up
emwalker
35 posts
msg #142128
Ignore emwalker
modified
2/11/2018 5:36:11 PM

Topic says it all. Is it possible to make money on technical analysis alone? Can you simply run a scan, buy the stock, sell on the sell signal and make money in the long run? I used to think if it back tests good, then you have a good strategy. Then I started playing with stratasearch. I could make an awesome system that works great from 2013-2016. But then I’d back test the system during 2017 and it would fall apart. It’s clear to me that back testing is just simply curve fitting, and when the strategy is used outside of the years it was developed against, it fails because it’s no longer in the same curve anymore. Ive even tried using Finviz to look for CANSLIM stocks to focus my scans on, still nothing.

Ive been trying to trade off and on for the past 4 years, and have failed every time. I think a winning scan is just a unicorn at this point. Does anyone actually make money for long periods of time using scans?

johnpaulca
12,036 posts
msg #142129
Ignore johnpaulca
2/11/2018 5:42:02 PM

Most people will fail but just won't admit it, so they sell news letters, give investment advice, etc.

Mactheriverrat
3,132 posts
msg #142132
Ignore Mactheriverrat
modified
2/11/2018 6:14:12 PM

I've fail many time's. Blown up my account twice. Then I kept learning what worked.
Took a few course's from BullsonWallstreet and a few others. Paper traded for some time. I still haves losses but I don't hold thinking it will come back.
TA is IMHO way better than CANSLIM.

The bottom line is KEEP Learning . When you can wash , rinse and repeat on a regular basis then trade live.

pthomas215
1,251 posts
msg #142133
Ignore pthomas215
2/11/2018 6:29:25 PM