StockFetcher Forums · General Discussion · Close x Months Ago<< >>Post Follow-up
MarkS
10 posts
msg #103525
Ignore MarkS
11/29/2011 10:39:59 PM

I am new to Stock Fetcher and have been able to work my way through a few things by looking at others examples. Thanks to all for that.

I was trying to use the Close x Months Ago to make some comparisons with Kevin's Technical Asset Allocation from his new site. I was trying to duplicate his numbers to verify that I was doing it correctly, but kept getting different results.

The problem I seem to be having is that using Close (3,6,9 or 12) Months Ago seems to produce results in increments of 100 days. Should Close 3 Months Ago give the close from 3 months prior to today, 3 months prior to the the end of this month, or something else?

Eman93
4,750 posts
msg #103528
Ignore Eman93
11/30/2011 12:40:07 AM

Your best bet is to use the backtest, you can click on trades and and see what is going on.

SF dose not extract a date, except in the backtest.

SF only has price information back 100 days.. but high and lows can go back 2 years I think..

MarkS
10 posts
msg #103533
Ignore MarkS
11/30/2011 2:34:28 AM

Maybe I wasn't clear. Using Close (3,6,9 or 12) Months Ago did give me data. But, when cross-checking the results, it was actually from increments of 100 days. In order to compare results from other sources, I need to know that the data is reliable. Asking for a Close from 3 months ago and being given results from ABOUT 3 months ago is almost useless. I guess it is OK when using it within Stock Fetcher Filters and Backtesting, but there is no way to compare the results from other programs.

StockFetcher Forums · General Discussion · Close x Months Ago<< >>Post Follow-up