StockFetcher Forums · General Discussion · Filter for 3-10-16 oscillator<< >>Post Follow-up
Kaylexa
11 posts
msg #105192
Ignore Kaylexa
2/29/2012 5:54:59 PM

Hi All,

I've been using SF since Aug 2010. Love it. I've been able to create lots of cool filters for many popular indicators. A few months ago I began relying more on the 3-10-16 oscillator popularized by Linda Raschke and "Chick" Goslin. How do I go about creating a filter for the 3-10-16 oscillator? (The “3/10 oscillator” is created by subtracting a 10-period simple moving average from a 3-period simple moving average, and then creating a 16-period simple moving average of the 3/10 oscillator. 3/10 line is the “fast” line, and the 16-period SMA is the “slow” line.) I know it's a rather simple indicator, but if the 3-10-16 oscillator is not part of the "pre-built" indicators on SF, then I don't know how to go about creating a filter from scratch. And I don't want to use the pre-built MACD because MACD uses exponentials, not simple moving averages.

There is a specific filter I want to create using the 3-10-16 oscillator (I want to use weekly charts):

Fast line associated with the current weekly bar is higher than last week (basically the fast line is higher today than last week's close).
Slow line is above zero line.

Then of course, for the opposite direction:

Fast line for current weekly bar is lower than last week's weekly bar close.
Slow line is below zero line.

Any help will be appreciated. I searched the forums, and I found a few posts about the 3-10-16 oscillator, but nothing like the added filter I'm looking for.

Happy Trading,

Kaylexa

four
5,087 posts
msg #105198
Ignore four
modified
2/29/2012 11:53:53 PM

(The “3/10 oscillator” is created by subtracting a 10-period simple moving average from a 3-period simple moving average, and then creating a 16-period simple moving average of the 3/10 oscillator. 3/10 line is the “fast” line, and the 16-period SMA is the “slow” line.)
--
Start here...