StockFetcher Forums · General Discussion · Hi from Iraq<< >>Post Follow-up
dweaver76
1 posts
msg #102466
Ignore dweaver76
8/26/2011 12:03:22 PM

Ok so I'm new to trading/stock market etc.

We are shutting this base down and things are slow with lots of free time so about a month ago I created an account with Etrade only putting as much in there as I was willing to lose.

Goals are swing trading for now.

Working filters and the learning process I placed an order to short AOL this morning pre-open.

They have of course gone the wrong direction, which is fine....but what did I miss?
What indicator would have stood out to you guys and flagged you to not short them?

Also, there is so much information out there to read, I would appreciate some suggestions on Intro to Swing Trading 101 by any of you that are having some success at it.

Thanks much.

four
5,087 posts
msg #102470
Ignore four
8/26/2011 8:05:07 PM

Perhaps,,,

A system is simply an idea. It's a trading idea for making buy and sell decisions in any market. A trader takes an idea, turns it into a mathematical formula and trades it to make money. A good trading system doesn't buy low or sell high; it rides trends. Great trend followers' success comes from the discipline to follow their rules no matter what. Our trend following trading systems answer the 5 critical questions:

What market do you buy or sell at any time?
How much of a market do you buy or sell at any time?
When do you buy or sell a market?
When do you get out of a losing position?
When do you get out of a winning position?

http://www.trendfollowing.com/think.html (about half-way down the page)

PS Always a good idea to write your 5 answers to the 5 critical questions down on paper.

Mactheriverrat
3,135 posts
msg #102485
Ignore Mactheriverrat
8/28/2011 6:41:08 PM

Paper trade for 6 months

haskellb2006
22 posts
msg #102499
Ignore haskellb2006
8/29/2011 2:38:15 PM

daily chart is in an uptrend.. dont pee upwind...:)

Mactheriverrat
3,135 posts