StockFetcher Forums · General Discussion · SCAN PICKS Round-Up<< 1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 >>Post Follow-up
thyname
16 posts
msg #88977
Ignore thyname
3/2/2010 9:17:33 PM

DMObrien: this is very advanced stuff for me. I don't even know what the filters mean. I know I am asking too much, but is there a link with something to explain the logic behind your filters? Maybe an earlier post?

Also, how do you guys (you, Chetron, Kevin etc.) learn this stuff? I am reading the "usage guide" but it is not even close to what you have built here. Thanks!

DMOBRIEN
363 posts
msg #88987
Ignore DMOBRIEN
3/3/2010 2:48:20 AM

Looking for PNX to star moving here

Venice
82 posts
msg #89018
Ignore Venice
3/3/2010 4:06:12 PM

Thyname,

My day job is a programmer, so this was relatively easy to pick up. Just gotta keep trying different things to learn. Start out with a goal and try and code it, asking for help along the way.

DMOBRIEN
363 posts
msg #89054
Ignore DMOBRIEN
3/4/2010 9:16:25 AM

OREX and SBCF keep em on watch

DMOBRIEN
363 posts
msg #89055
Ignore DMOBRIEN
3/4/2010 9:32:51 AM

Venice is right on the mark. Only been here a few months myself, read as much as you can and try to understand what others are trying to accomplish. For example the first filter posted is trying to capture the price rate of change in relation to the internal strength of the stock and then to capture the move of the crossover divergence until strength wanes. The RSI(2) or RSIVAL increases followed by price rate of change(RCVAL) and then look for crossover of the rate of change vs. the rate of change moving average. The lines on price plot are there to track high, mid, and low.

HTH

thyname
16 posts
msg #89105
Ignore thyname
3/4/2010 9:16:22 PM