StockFetcher Forums · General Discussion · When should I take my losses and move on?<< 1 2 >>Post Follow-up
SFMc01
358 posts
msg #54789
Ignore SFMc01
9/14/2007 12:47:58 PM

I'm a Daytrader/Swing Trader who shoots for 1% per day average. I own a couple of stocks down about 8% in the last week to 10 days and they are just hovering there. I have an absolute Financial Stop Loss of 10%. Each stock is rated by Investors Business Daily as "A" or "A+" and in the "Top 100". Analyst Concensus is "Buy." One has just dropped thru the MA(50). Each day I wait costs me money. I know no one is a genius, but, would you share some "rules" for when to dump?

curmudgeon
103 posts
msg #54791
Ignore curmudgeon
9/14/2007 1:00:41 PM

http://www.iitm.com/

As good a place as any to start on money management. "Trade your way to financial freedom" is a good book on risk.

Position sizing is very key to success in trading. An 8-10% stop indicates to me that your entries may need improvement. 2% seems more appropriate.

jrbikes
624 posts
msg #54792
Ignore jrbikes
9/14/2007 1:33:34 PM

Tools and Tactics of the Master Day Trader is a good one, has some good info on entry strategies and exit (stop) or (profit) strategies!

maxreturn
745 posts
msg #54793
Ignore maxreturn
9/14/2007 1:59:58 PM

Agree with Curmudgeon. This may be obvious to some but many times stocks in the IBD 100 have already made a tremendous run and are due for a correction. My advice is that you use the IBD 100 as a watchlist and run a good pullback filter on it each day. Then develop specific entry/exit rules. My guess is that you can improve your risk/reward ratio significantly by doing this.

karennma
8,057 posts
msg #54794
Ignore karennma
modified
9/14/2007 2:06:47 PM

SFMc01
SFMc01 9/14/2007 12:47:58 PM