StockFetcher Forums · General Discussion · how to uncover date of volume spike in the past<< >>Post Follow-up
dajo117
5 posts
msg #124633
Ignore dajo117
8/10/2015 4:44:23 AM

Hi, this is my first post as a new SF subscriber. I am not a programmer.

As a swing-trader, I am trying to write a filter that (for a 6 month chart) :
a. shows a general uptrend left to right
b. then somewhere in the middle of the chart (around 5 weeks or more ago from right edge of chart?) shows a tight ranges for some weeks (4-10 weeks or so?)
c. then a volume spike (> 50% of average vol?)
d. accompanied by a tall range upcandle breakout ('trigger' candle) (close of trigger candle - upper limit of tight range is > 2 x average High-Low of past 10 candles in range?)
e. after trigger candle, candles move up to reach High1, and then retraces once to Low1 and then up again to High2 where High2 is > High1
f. then retraces down to Low2 which is below or near EMA(30) and where Low2 is > Low1
g (Note : this is where I can take a long position where position sizing will be based on 1% of capital = price x (Low 1-Low2) with Low 2 as my Stop-Loss and target profit = 3 x (Low1-Low2) OR
h. alternatively, I further screen for a most recent 'confirmation' up candle before I take a long position at close of the confirmation candle
g. further comments : price > 10, exclude ETFs, average vol > 200K

1st general question : I am facing the problem where I wish for the code to generate stocks whose charts "conceptually" fit the above idea and yet I find I am forced to write code that will likely omit stocks that don't fit EXACTLY FIT ALL the descriptive parameters of the above rules. Can anyone give me an idea of how to solve this in the world of programming?

2nd question : if someone can provide some code to help me get started for above, I would appreciate that.