StockFetcher Forums · General Discussion · online brokers<< >>Post Follow-up
neskander
6 posts
msg #39755
Ignore neskander
12/25/2005 4:06:08 AM

Hi could anyone please advise if they know of an online broker who would accept membership from Australia. I am new to trading and since StockFetcher only works on American stocks, I would like to be able to buy these stocks if the opportunity presents itself. I have contacted Scottrade and they don't accept membership from Australia. I tried Scottrade because their website indicates they have Ranked "highest in investor satisfaction with online trading services" 6 times in a row and very good prices, $7 per trade. I have never traded and would appreciate your advice and suggestions to other web sites and if there is anything else I should take in consideration when trading on American Stocks from Australia.
Thanks
Bill

scvidar
87 posts
msg #39759
Ignore scvidar
12/25/2005 2:21:47 PM

Try E-Trade they have branches in Australia
https://www.etradeaustralia.com.au/application/index.htm

I use E-Trade in the states and am pretty happy with them. I would presume that even though you are trying to purchase US stocks that you could thru them. Don't know if it helps, but an e-mail to them or a call is cheap enough.

scvidar
87 posts
msg #39760
Ignore scvidar
12/25/2005 3:15:20 PM

And one more for any international purchasers of US stocks.

http://www.turbotrade.com/turbotradewhyturbotrade.html

neskander
6 posts
msg #39761
Ignore neskander
12/25/2005 8:29:42 PM

Thank you scvidar for your help. I sent an email to E-Trade and awaiting their response.
I checked out Turbotrade and it sounds great! the only problem with them is that they require a minimum $25,000 to start the account. It did have a very interesting article regarding the lower fee online brokers which I had no idea about, this is the information following:

Direct Access Trading