StockFetcher Forums · General Discussion · stop lock<< >>Post Follow-up
billyspradling
13 posts
msg #71539
Ignore billyspradling
2/19/2009 12:49:53 PM

I am trying to find some code that will allow me to put a stop lock on a stock
my problem being-- if i put the stop lock at 2% the volitality of the stock, during the normal ups and downs of the day might make it sell even if the stock in going up. if i put the stop lock at 5%, the loss is to great.
i think what i am tyrying to do is get above the normal clutter-or ups and downs of the stock if you will, yet not make it so high that the loss is to great. im pretty new to this, so any help you can give will greatly be appreciated!!

THANKS
BILL

decipherlinda
133 posts
msg #71560
Ignore decipherlinda
2/19/2009 7:12:09 PM

This is the dilemma we all face. The only reference I've seen to an absolute stop loss is from Investor's Business Daily where 7% is taught.

If you're looking for a daily stop loss, you might consider calculating the average of the close from yesterday to the close of today / close of yesterday for the last 20 days or so. I'd also suggest doing this for UP days only. That's more conservitive than days where the stock's dropping like a rock. Stocks drop fast, often with higher daily ranges.

In the same way, if you're looking to stay in the stock for a longer term and don't want to be whipsawed out when it takes a several day or more correction, look at past corrections and calcuate how low corrections for that stock generally take it. Take the average or the worst case (or more), depending on how risk averse you are.

Once you own a stock for a while and have good paper earnings, you can set the stop loss higher than your original stop loss (7% becomes, say 15%) because you can now afford to withstand corrections to see if the stock resumes its uptrend. This is a lousy market to learn in. It wants to kill you financially.