StockFetcher Forums · Filter Exchange · Another approach to RSI(2)<< 1 2 3 >>Post Follow-up
jldelta
16 posts
msg #105696
Ignore jldelta
3/27/2012 11:19:46 AM

Hello everybody, first-post SF total newbie here, trying to make the move from intraday trading of fast tick charts to EOD trading. I know that several members have generously shared their research into variations of Connors RSI(2). I want to do something slightly different based on Ric Miller’s work at TSM (sorry to mention a commercial service in my first post, but it’s relevant as it will provide my universe of stocks).

I am going to use US stocks rather than ETFs & the stock universe will be pre-screened via the TSM fundamental and technical screens on a weekly basis (although many stocks may stay on the Watch List for many weeks at a time). This means manually updating it every Monday morning – I am hoping I can copy>paste the list into SF - but being a Brit currently living in the countryside outside Amsterdam, the European timing works, as does my entry & exit execution to be at the following day’s Open, rather than current day Close. Ric – an apparently rigorous statistician – has determined that this execution on Open barely degrades performance. He has also determined that the premise to use fundamentally strong stocks works even in a terrible year like 2008.

So Step 1 for me is to work out how to screen the chosen parameter set, which is :

Close above MA(200)
RSI(2) below 15 last 2 days, then Buy next day Open
RSI(2) above 80, exit half position next day on Open
Exit second half position on discretion

I don’t think I need to code the exit, as I cannot imagine having a live trade without a chart up & can eyeball it accordingly, so the code snippet I need is how to code the two consecutive days’ closes below 15. Is it really as simple as :

Close above MA(200)
and RSI(2) has been below 15 for the last 2 days ?

I regret I haven't worked out how to correctly wrap code on this forum yet.