StockFetcher Forums · Filter Exchange · Quick and dirty 5 day VWAP<< >>Post Follow-up
JoeyVinyl
125 posts
msg #151119
Ignore JoeyVinyl
3/7/2020 5:35:11 PM

I was watching a video where the person was talking about using only the VWAP and EMA(9) (for day trading - they suggested the SMA(9) for swing trading). I'm still learning as much as I can so I thought I'd check the VWAP out. It seems that SF doesn't have that indicator. A quick forum search showed that TRO had worked on it years ago but his filters are usually too complex for me, mainly because I have to decipher what his set variables are for. I couldn't find any other posts where someone had come up with filter phrases to create it. One of my favorite basic learning tools is Investopedia. Here's where I got the formula I used in this code: https://www.investopedia.com/articles/trading/11/trading-with-vwap-mvwap.asp

THIS IS NOT A COMPLETE FILTER. I want to be clear about that. All I was trying to do here was create a way to see a VWAP. It does have two filter phrases but only so I could make columns to show my set statement results. I took those out, btw. It only goes back five days because you need cumulative numbers and more than five days worth would include too many lines (IMO) and probably trigger the "you need the Advanced SF to run this" message.

My expectation is that if you like what I post here and copy it to your filters that you will modify it to your needs so if you want to use this and add more days to it go right ahead. If you can come up with a way to streamline this please do and let me see it! Or if you see any errors in it I'd like to know about those too.

Having said all that, here's the quick and dirty 5 day VWAP code:

Fetcher[/* FIND THE TPV (TYPICAL PRICE * VOLUME) FOR LAST 5 DAYS THEN ADD THEM TOGETHER */
set {tpva, high + low}
set {tpvb, tpva + close}
set {tpvc, tpvb / 3}
set {tpv01, tpvc * volume}
set {tpv02, tpv01 1 day ago}
set {tpv03, tpv01 2 days ago}