StockFetcher Forums · Filter Exchange · RSI(2) REVISITED<< 1 ... 8 9 10 11 12 >>Post Follow-up
TheRumpledOne
6,407 posts
msg #61506
Ignore TheRumpledOne
modified
4/15/2008 3:56:28 PM

drew9

TRO, my issue is that I do not trade for a living yet. I have automated trading software that allows me to buy at whatever level and take profits, trail profits and set stop losses accordingly. I prefer to take the emotions out of it. However, not being able to watch this all day means a stop loss is needed. Just wondered how you were doing it. I certainly like the percentages here but you have to account for those few losers and the question is how much to allow?

==================================================

Losers? If you focus on losing, then you'll lose.

Is every trade a winner? NO!

But two traders can be trading the same stock all day long. One wins and the other loses. What is the reason?

To me, it is simple:

THE HIGH IS USUALLY HIGHER THAN THE OPEN.

Buy at/near the open, at/near the open price and wait for the opportunity to make money.

When you trade the same stock, over and over and over again, it becomes ROUTINE.

How much loss to allow? Money management dictates that. You really don't want to take too many steps backwards nor do you want to be knocked out of the game.

If you are up $1,000 closed profit and down $500 open profit, then you have just given back 50% of your winnings.. time to bail and quit for the day.

If your open profit is a loss of twice your average winnings, time to bail and quit. YOU HAVE JUST TAKEN 2 STEPS BACK.

Nothing fancy, just common trading sense rule of thumb.

drew9
171 posts
msg #61519
Ignore drew9
4/15/2008 11:27:05 PM