StockFetcher Forums · General Discussion · SOOOOOO Confused!!!<< 1 2 >>Post Follow-up
DanStover
2 posts
msg #30567
Ignore DanStover
1/10/2004 5:21:12 PM

I have been attempting to learn stocks indicators. It is obvious everyone has an opinion (professional and novice). Just watch FoxNews Sat morn. everyone thinks differently. I have attempted many different software and stocks sights. Just look at this site. Offers many different methods. To each their own and that's great. I work as a trouble shooter for electrical applications. The best way to trouble shoot a problem is to start with the basic application. I can't help feel that someone has developed a basic approach with StockFetcher that worked well. Than as time went on added a filter(s). Printed SF 146 page manual, love to see a "Readers Digest" version. Any suggestions on starting out? Wrote an earlier thread with three replys, thanks to those individuals. But folks, there are hundreds using this program. Let's start a really useful forum. ANYONE out there?

Dan in NC

txtrapper
548 posts
msg #30568
Ignore txtrapper
1/10/2004 6:33:55 PM

Dan

What do you want to know? Every trader uses different tactics and indicators, many traders use different favorite filters, what you have to do is experiment, or just paper trade, another good source of infomation on SF is to start reading from the very first post to the last, and them you will form your own opinion. Worked for me.

TxTrapper

dducey
19 posts
msg #30569
Ignore dducey
1/10/2004 6:44:10 PM

Here is a way to start:
Fetcher[show stocks where SMA(5) crossed above SMA(50) and average volume(90) is above 100000 and volume is above 100000 and 60 day slope of close is above 0]

This should allow you to find stocks that may be continuing (or starting) a nice up trend. Once you have found them then they can be traded by charting the RSI(5) crossing the RSI(50). Buy when RSI(5) crosses above RSI(50) and sell when RSI(5) crosses below RSI(50).